IMG_0815

Land of celebrity chefs… Las Vegas!

Ahh Vegas…  scorchingly hot days, endless electronic sounds of the pokies machines, cocktails in ridiculous glasses and land of the celebrity chefs!  The selection of restaurants on the strip was endless, and here are ones that I tried out!

Table 10 is Emeril Lagasse’s restaurant located inside the swanky Palazzo.  I’d never heard of Emeril prior to this wow the food was good!  I had a New Orleans Fried Shrimp Po-Boy with Natural Cut Fries whilst my boyfriend had the Angus Ground Beef Burger (grilled to order – sesame seed brioche bun – natural cut fries – choice of bleu or cheddar cheese) along with a side of Truffle Mac-n-Cheese (excessive for lunch, I couldn’t help myself!).  Lunch time prices were very reasonable, and I still have dreams about that Shrimp Po-Boy… it was so good!

Nobhill Tavern is Michael Mina’s restaurant located at the MGM Grand.   The restaurant decor was minimalist and elegant.  I had the Maine Lobster Pot Pie with baby vegetables and truffle cream – which I think may have been the greatest dish I ate during my whole trip to the US.  It had a whole lobster sitting atop crispy fluffy puff pastry in a rich truffle cream – what more could I ask for?   My boyfriend had the special of the day, which was a beef short rib served with mashed potato (which he substituted for fries).  His comments on the short rib:  “promised to be a simple piece off meat of the grill but turned out to be so much more”.   Would so go back again,  as I saw a couple serves of burger sliders go past and I’m desperate to try them!

Would a post about celebrity chefs be complete without Wolfgang Puck?  I think not.  We gave in and went to his restaurant Spago in Ceasar’s Palace.  We were there for lunch and had the Chicken Meatball Sandwich, soup du jour (Clam Chowder) and Tuna Sashimi on crispy rice cakes.  The food was good, and the restaurant was bustling as we sat “outdoors” under the blue sky (ceiling).

All up, Vegas had some of the most spectacular food I’d had.  In the land of excessiveness, it seems natural to eat excessively also!

For more info and reviews on Table 10:
Table 10 (Palazzo) on Urbanspoon

For more info and reviews on Nobhill Tavern:
Nobhill (MGM Grand) on Urbanspoon

For more info and reviews on Spago:
Spago (Caesars Palace) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

